
My fiancé and I have a lot of the typical NYC daily stress factors - we live in Brooklyn and our daily commute to work can total 1.5 hours to 3 hours depending on our train karma. We both work hard at our jobs and usually have to run errands or do chores (grocery shopping, laundry, washing dishes, etc...) after we get home from work. This leads us to both be cranky and tired at the end of the day. And we have fallen into a bad habit of unwinding/relaxing/eating dinner in front of the television.
And even as I write this post, I'm thinking how I should know better than to have this kind of bad habit. It is just a weakness that we have (it is more me than my fiancé who is better about turning off the tv). I tend to think way too much and tv is easy way for me to stop thinking about all the stuff that happened that day or stuff I should have accomplished but didn't. It has gotten worse since I got a laptop and this allows me to check my email and do work/school/blog related things with the news on in the background (I have a news-addiction at the moment with the presidential election).
I know tv-
watching is "bad". I have "
improved" my tv watching by getting a DVR (digital video recorder - it is like "tivo") so I only watch what I want and don't have to deal with commercials. I have considered, but have decided not
to throw out my tv. That might be the right choice for some people. And maybe it is something I would do some day. But it is not my style - I like things in moderation. And I think that is what has happened as of late - my tv watching is no longer being done in moderation. As my stress levels have gone up, so has my tv watching.
But it has started to catch up with me. I noticed a couple of weeks ago that having the tv on and not having quiet time is increasing my stress instead of reducing it. My fiancé and I aren't taking the time to check in with each other and talk about how our day went. It wouldn't be too bad if it wasn't for the fact that we have been so busy this summer with traveling or having visitors from out-of-town, etc... that we don't get to have quality time on the weekends then either.
So he and I finally had a talk last night after realizing that both of us have been in a funk. We are trying to solve it with a two-pronged approach: 1) find out what causes us daily stress and annoyance that we can possibly change and 2) finding different coping mechanisms for the daily stress. This is what we came up with as a starting point:
- No more eating dinner in front of the tv (particularly when we are both home).
- Instead of watching tv to relax, we are going to go for a walk around the neighborhood. It will give us a chance to unwind and talk about how (badly) our day went.
- I have moved my laptop into my "office" area. No more "multi-tasking" with the laptop and the tv.
- My fiancé is going to try taking the local train home instead of the express train. It may take longer but he may be able to sit and read a book instead of getting irritated about being crammed into the "faster" train with other cranky commuters.
What do you do in order to deal with the stress of living in NYC? what are the bad habits and good habits that you have learned to cope? Post your response
here.